VideoAsk vs Vocal Video (2026): Which Is Better for Video Testimonials?
VideoAsk and Vocal Video compared for collecting video testimonials: how each is priced, free plans, processing minutes, editing, branding, API and who each suits. Prices read from each vendor's own pricing page.
Pavel Putilin
Founder
Short answer
Vocal Video is built for testimonials: guided collectors, automatically edited videos and galleries, from Essential at $99/month billed yearly ($1,188). VideoAsk is an interactive video form priced by minutes: free for 20 minutes a month, then Grow at $30/month ($24 billed yearly) for 1,200 minutes a year. Pick VideoAsk for budget and branching; Vocal Video for finished testimonial videos.

Prices checked on each vendor's own pricing page between 2026-09-24 and 2026-09-29. We update this page when a vendor changes a plan.
VideoAsk and Vocal Video both let customers record video in the browser from a link, which is why both turn up when someone asks how to collect video testimonials. They are not the same kind of product. Vocal Video is a testimonial tool: it asks guided questions, edits the answers into finished, branded videos and publishes them to galleries, and it is priced like a marketing platform. VideoAsk is an interactive video form from Typeform, used for testimonials among many other things, and priced by the minute at a fraction of the cost.
VideoAsk vs Vocal Video at a glance
| Tool | Free plan | Entry paid plan | Unlimited video from | Recording limit | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| VideoTestimonials | 20 text testimonials + 10 video testimonials, no time limit | $24/month | Starter, $24/month | Set per form, up to 5 minutes | Unlimited video on a small budget; 3 brands from the first paid plan |
| VideoAsk | 20 minutes of video or audio a month | Grow: $30/month | Not offered on published plans | Not stated | Interactive, branching video conversations |
| Vocal Video | Publish 5 videos | Essential: $99/month, billed yearly | Essential, $99/month billed yearly | Not stated | Produced-looking videos when budget allows |
How each is priced
The two price on different units, which makes a headline comparison misleading.
VideoAsk prices by processing minutes. Every minute of video or audio created on VideoAsk counts — your respondents' answers, but also your own prompt videos and any video replies you send. Playback is free.
| VideoAsk plan | Price | Minutes |
|---|---|---|
| Start | Free | 20 a month |
| Grow | $30/month | 1,200 a year |
| Brand | $50/month | 2,400 a year, more can be added |
Paid yearly, VideoAsk Grow is $24/month and Brand $40/month. Unused minutes do not carry over to the next month, and going over means you are asked to upgrade.
Vocal Video prices by year, by plan. Every plan includes unlimited video collection; what grows with the plan is processing time, collectors, requests and brand control.
| Vocal Video plan | Price | Processing | Collectors |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | Free | 20 minutes a month | 1, up to 3 questions |
| Essential | $99/month, billed yearly | 4 hours a year | 5, up to 5 questions |
| Pro | $149/month, billed yearly | 6 hours a year | 10, up to 10 questions |
| Scale | $249/month, billed yearly | 12 hours a year | 15, up to 10 questions |
Vocal Video Essential is billed annually at $1,188, Pro at $1,788 and Scale at $2,988, and Enterprise starts at $1,250/month.
So on the entry paid plans, VideoAsk Grow costs less than a third of Vocal Video Essential and includes more raw minutes: 1,200 a year against 4 hours. What you are paying Vocal Video for is the editing, publishing and brand control that come with every video.
A worked example: 10 testimonials a month
To see how the two units compare, take a business that collects 10 video testimonials a month, each about 2 minutes long. That is 20 minutes of answers a month, or 240 minutes — 4 hours — a year.
- On VideoAsk, 20 minutes a month is exactly the free plan's allowance, before counting the prompt video you record yourself, so in practice it means Grow. Grow's 1,200 minutes a year covers this five times over, leaving room for longer answers or video replies.
- On Vocal Video, the free plan would process the 20 minutes but publish only 5 videos in total. Essential's 4 hours of processing a year covers the 240 minutes with nothing to spare; anything more means buying extra processing or moving to Pro, which includes 6 hours.
Double the volume to 8 hours a year and VideoAsk Grow still fits, while Vocal Video needs Scale (12 hours), or Pro plus extra processing. The trade-off is what you get per minute: on Vocal Video each answer comes back as an edited, branded video, and on VideoAsk as a raw recording with a transcript.
Free plans
VideoAsk Start includes 20 minutes a month, up to 3 steps per videoask, up to 3 users, conditional logic, Stripe payments, appointment scheduling, Zapier, data export, and transcription with captions. Everything is VideoAsk branded.
Vocal Video Free publishes 5 "pro-style" videos at 720p with a watermark and no downloads, processes 20 minutes a month, runs 1 collector of up to 3 questions, sends 50 video requests a month and allows up to 5 editors, plus a one-time 300 AI credits.
VideoAsk's free plan is the more usable one for ongoing collection, as long as 20 minutes a month covers your prompts and your customers' answers. Vocal Video's free plan is best seen as a trial of the finished output: you see what its edited videos look like, but you cannot download them.
The recording and editing experience
This is the real difference between the two.
Vocal Video builds the whole flow around testimonials. A "video collector" is a branded, multi-question form that works on any device, and Vocal Video turns the answers into an edited, branded video with subtitles — its pricing page calls them "autogenerated pro-style videos". Videos are hosted ad-free and published in galleries you can embed. Transcripts are generated in over 100 languages. Pro adds AI effects such as background blur and removal, pro themes and fonts, custom legal releases that respondents must accept, and a kiosk mode for recording at live events.
VideoAsk builds the flow around conversation. You record a prompt, respondents answer by video or audio, and conditional logic can send them down different paths. Grow adds unlimited steps, live calls, NPS, file uploads, hidden fields, video length control and passcode protection. It has transcription and captions on every plan, but no automatic editing of answers into a finished testimonial video.
If what you want at the end is a polished testimonial video ready for a landing page, Vocal Video does that work for you. If you want to qualify leads, route people by their answers, take payments or book calls in the same flow, VideoAsk does what Vocal Video does not.
AI features
Vocal Video meters AI in credits. They power its AI assistant, Vera, AI-directed video templates, and effects such as Studio Sound and background blur. The free plan includes 300 credits once; Essential and Pro include 600 a year and Scale 1,200, with more available to buy. Transcripts are generated automatically in over 100 languages.
VideoAsk includes voice-to-text transcription and captions on every plan, and its Brand plan adds an AI chatbot.
Video quality and downloads
Vocal Video's free videos are 720p, watermarked and cannot be downloaded; from Essential, published videos are 1080p with no watermark, and you can download them or the raw footage to post on YouTube or Instagram. Vocal Video also lets you choose whether each video is public and whether search engines may index it. VideoAsk includes data export on its free plan.
Branding
- VideoAsk: free is VideoAsk branded; Grow is partially branded; Brand adds your own brands and domain white labeling.
- Vocal Video: free videos carry a watermark and free galleries a small Vocal Video logo; Essential removes the watermark; Pro adds a white-labeled collection experience and multiple brands; Scale adds a custom domain.
API, integrations and teams
VideoAsk includes Zapier on its free plan and APIs and webhooks on Grow. Vocal Video says it connects to over 6,000 apps from Essential, for automating invitations, downloads and notifications, and lists its API and analytics integration on Pro.
On teams, VideoAsk allows up to 3 users free, 5 on Grow and 10 on Brand. Vocal Video includes up to 5 editors on the free plan; paid plans include 1 editor seat (more can be bought, up to 3 on Essential and 8 on Pro and Scale) plus free reviewers who can view and comment.
VideoAsk also offers discounts for NGOs, students and educators, on application.
Who each one suits
VideoAsk suits small teams and creators who want video responses on a small budget, and anyone whose "testimonial" flow is part of something larger — onboarding, lead qualification, feedback or interviews. VideoAsk is part of Typeform.
Vocal Video suits marketing teams with a budget who want finished, on-brand testimonial videos without an editor, and organisations that need custom releases, kiosk recording at events or several brands.
Which to pick
| If you need… | Pick… | Why |
|---|---|---|
| The lowest price | VideoAsk | Free plan, then Grow at $24/month billed yearly |
| Finished, edited testimonial videos | Vocal Video | Automatic editing on every plan |
| Branching and lead qualification | VideoAsk | Conditional logic, payments, scheduling |
| Galleries of testimonial videos | Vocal Video | Galleries and ad-free hosting |
| Recording at live events | Vocal Video | Kiosk mode on Pro |
| An API on a low plan | VideoAsk | APIs and webhooks on Grow |
| Monthly billing | VideoAsk | Vocal Video's paid plans are billed yearly |
Where VideoTestimonials fits
VideoTestimonials
Testimonial tool (ours)- Free plan
- 20 text testimonials + 10 video testimonials, no time limit
- Entry paid plan
- Starter: $24/month
- Unlimited video from
- Starter, $24/month
- Recording limit
- Set per form, up to 5 minutes
- Best for
- Video and text testimonials on a monthly plan with no minute metering
- Not for
- Automatically edited, produced-looking videos (Vocal Video) or branching video funnels (VideoAsk)
VideoTestimonials is our product, and it sits between the two. Like Vocal Video it is built for testimonials: customers record or write through a link, with your questions on a teleprompter, and you approve what goes live on a Wall of Love or in a widget. Like VideoAsk it is priced for small budgets, and it is not metered by minutes: Starter is $24/month for unlimited video and text testimonials, with recordings up to 5 minutes set per form. The free plan holds 20 text and 10 video testimonials.
We do not auto-edit answers into a produced video the way Vocal Video does — you trim and add subtitles yourself — and we have no branching logic, payments or scheduling like VideoAsk. For more options, see the VideoAsk alternatives and Vocal Video alternatives roundups.
The same figures, side by side with each plan's source link: VideoAsk vs Vocal Video at a glance.
How we compared: prices, limits and features were read from videoask.com/pricing and vocalvideo.com/pricing on the dates shown above. VideoTestimonials is our product; we have said where each tool is the better choice.
Pavel Putilin
·FounderFounder of VideoTestimonials. Passionate about helping businesses build trust through authentic customer stories and video social proof.
Frequently asked questions
Is VideoAsk or Vocal Video cheaper?+
VideoAsk, by a wide margin. VideoAsk has a free plan with 20 minutes of video a month, and Grow is $30/month ($24 billed yearly). Vocal Video's first paid plan, Essential, is $99/month billed yearly, $1,188 a year.
Which is better for video testimonials?+
Vocal Video is built for them. Its collectors ask up to 5 questions on Essential, and every plan turns answers into automatically edited, branded videos with captions, published to galleries. VideoAsk is a general interactive video tool; testimonial collection is one of its use cases, alongside lead generation, recruiting and support.
How does VideoAsk count minutes?+
VideoAsk counts minutes every time you or your respondents create video or audio, including your own prompt videos and replies; playback is unlimited. The free plan includes 20 minutes a month, Grow 1,200 minutes a year and Brand 2,400.
What does Vocal Video's free plan include?+
Vocal Video's free plan publishes 5 videos at 720p with a Vocal Video watermark and no downloads, with 20 minutes of processing a month, 1 active collector of up to 3 questions and 50 video requests a month.
Do VideoAsk and Vocal Video have an API?+
Both. VideoAsk lists APIs and webhooks on Grow at $30/month ($24 billed yearly). Vocal Video lists API and analytics integration on Pro at $149/month billed yearly.
Can I remove the branding?+
VideoAsk's free plan is VideoAsk branded, Grow is partially branded, and Brand at $50/month ($40 billed yearly) adds your own brands and domain white labeling. Vocal Video removes its watermark from Essential and offers a white-labeled collection experience from Pro.
Can I embed VideoAsk or Vocal Video on my website?+
Yes. VideoAsk lists an embed widget among its features. Vocal Video publishes videos and galleries you can embed, and from Pro its analytics integration tracks views and playback of embedded videos in your own analytics software.
Is there an option without minutes or yearly billing?+
VideoTestimonials, our product, sells monthly with no minute metering. Starter is $24/month for unlimited video and text testimonials. It does not auto-edit videos the way Vocal Video does or branch like VideoAsk.
Related Articles
Related Articles

Best Free Wall of Love Tools (2026): 8 Free Plans Compared
Eight free plans that include a Wall of Love, compared on how many testimonials and videos fit, how many walls, branding, recording limits and what the first paid plan costs. From each vendor's own pricing page.

Best Google Review Widgets for Your Website (2026): 7 Tools Compared
Seven ways to show Google reviews on your website, compared on free plans, price, view limits, how often reviews update and filtering. Trustindex and Elfsight lead; we say where each fits. Prices from each vendor's own site.

Best Testimonial Software with an API (2026): 8 Tools Compared
Eight testimonial tools with an API or webhooks, compared on which plan unlocks them, what the API can do, Zapier and webhooks, and price. Prices from each vendor's own pricing page.
