Head-to-head comparison

VideoAsk vs Vocal Video (2026)

How VideoAsk by Typeform and Vocal Video stack up — plus where VideoTestimonials fits as a third option.

Option A

VideoAsk

VideoAsk is Typeform's async video conversation tool. It builds branching video flows that can take payments, book meetings and run NPS surveys, and teams often use one of those flows to gather testimonials. Collection is its strength; publishing what you collect is not what it was built for.

$30/month (Grow) · Starter
Try this instead
VideoTestimonials

All-in-one platform

Video + text testimonial collection, 55 image studio templates, 10+ Wall of Love widgets, REST API, multi-space.

$24/mo · Starter
Option B

Vocal Video

Vocal Video specializes in asynchronous video collection with guided interview flows. It offers AI-powered video editing, pro-quality video generation, and ad-free hosting.

$99/month, billed yearly (Essential) · Starter
Verified facts, side by side

VideoAsk vs Vocal Video at a glance

Each figure was read off the vendor’s own pricing page on the date shown under the table.

VideoAsk and Vocal Video compared on free plan, entry price, unlimited video and recording limit
FeatureVideoAskVocal Video
What it isVideo platformVideo platform
Free plan20 minutes of video or audio a monthPublish 5 videos
Entry paid planGrow: $30/monthEssential: $99/month, billed yearly
Unlimited video fromNot offered on published plansEssential, $99/month billed yearly
Recording limitNot statedNot stated
Best forInteractive, branching video conversationsProduced-looking videos when budget allows
Not forPredictable testimonial budgetsVolume on a small budget
Checked2026-11-01 on videoask.com2026-11-01 on vocalvideo.com

Which to choose

  • Both have a free plan. VideoAsk: 20 minutes of video or audio a month. Vocal Video: Publish 5 videos.
  • VideoAsk costs less to start: its Grow plan is $30/month, against Vocal Video's Essential at $99/month, billed yearly.
  • Only Vocal Video lists unlimited video testimonials on a published plan, from Essential, $99/month billed yearly. VideoAsk does not.

Choose VideoAsk for

Interactive, branching video conversations

Not the pick for

Predictable testimonial budgets

Choose Vocal Video for

Produced-looking videos when budget allows

Not the pick for

Volume on a small budget

For reference, VideoTestimonials (our product): a free plan with 20 text testimonials and 10 video testimonials, then unlimited video testimonials from Starter at $24/month; recording length is set per form, up to 5 minutes. Compare plans.

Pricing across all three plans

Each row is a tier — Starter, Pro, etc. — with real prices from each platform’s pricing page.

PlanVideoAskVideoTestimonialsVocal Video
FreeFree (20 minutes of video or audio a month)FreeFree (5 videos)
Starter$30/month (Grow)$24/mo$99/month, billed yearly (Essential)
Pro$50/month (Brand)$49/mo$149/month, billed yearly (Pro)
Our independent comparisons

Each one against VideoTestimonials

Our head-to-head posts compare VideoAsk and Vocal Video with VideoTestimonials feature by feature, including where each is the better choice.

More on each platform

Common questions

Is VideoAsk or Vocal Video cheaper?

VideoAsk's Grow plan is $30/month; Vocal Video's Essential plan is $99/month, billed yearly. Read from each vendor's own pricing page on 2026-11-01.

Do VideoAsk and Vocal Video have free plans?

VideoAsk: 20 minutes of video or audio a month. Vocal Video: Publish 5 videos.

Which has unlimited video testimonials, VideoAsk or Vocal Video?

Only Vocal Video lists unlimited video testimonials on a published plan, from Essential, $99/month billed yearly. VideoAsk does not.

Is VideoAsk a testimonial tool?

Not specifically. It is an async video conversation platform from Typeform, used for hiring, support, lead capture and testimonials alike. That breadth is genuinely useful if you need conditional logic, payments or scheduling — none of which this product does.

What does VideoAsk cost?

Free for 20 minutes of video or audio processing a month. Grow is $30/month ($24 billed yearly) for 1,200 minutes a year, and Brand starts at $50/month ($40 yearly) for 2,400 minutes. Prices checked August 2026.

Why does per-minute billing matter?

Because testimonials vary in length. A two-minute story and a twenty-second one cost the same here; on VideoAsk the long one eats six times the allowance. If you are collecting a lot of video, the maths diverges quickly.

Is Vocal Video better for video quality?

Both platforms record in high quality. VideoTestimonials matches Vocal Video's recording quality while also supporting text testimonials and costing significantly less.

Does VideoTestimonials have guided interviews like Vocal Video?

Yes, you can set up multi-question guided collection flows that walk customers through recording their testimonial step by step.

Why is Vocal Video so much more expensive?

Vocal Video's paid plans start at $99/mo while ours start at $24/mo. Both offer free tiers. Compare feature sets to find the best fit for your needs.

Start building trust today

Weighing VideoAsk against Vocal Video?
Try the third option free.

VideoTestimonials collects video and text testimonials through one link, imports the reviews you already have, and embeds them anywhere. Free plan includes 10 videos, 20 text testimonials and a Wall of Love — no credit card, nothing expires.

Free forever plan
No credit card required
Cancel anytime