Best Testimonial Software with an API (2026): 8 Tools Compared
Eight testimonial tools with an API or webhooks, compared on which plan unlocks them, what the API can do, Zapier and webhooks, and price. Prices from each vendor's own pricing page.
Pavel Putilin
Founder
Short answer
The cheapest testimonial API is Famewall's, on Standard at $15/month ($12 billed yearly). Senja includes its API and webhooks on Starter at $29/month. VideoTestimonials has a documented REST API with an OpenAPI spec and webhooks on Pro at $49/month. Testimonial.to adds MCP to its API on Ultimate at $60/month per space.

Prices checked on each vendor's own pricing page between 2026-09-24 and 2026-10-08. We update this page when a vendor changes a plan.
Most testimonial tools give you an embed code. An API is for when that is not enough: you want testimonials rendered by your own components, pushed into a CRM, created from another system, or moderated in bulk. The plan that unlocks the API varies more than the tools themselves — from Famewall's Standard at $15/month to StoryPrompt's Premium at $169/month. This page compares eight tools that list an API, with VideoTestimonials, our product, among them.
What to check in a testimonial API
- Which plan includes it. Often not the entry plan.
- Read and write. Can you only fetch testimonials, or also create, update and delete them?
- Filters. Fetching only approved testimonials, for one space or brand, by type or rating.
- Webhooks. An event when a testimonial is submitted or approved, so you do not have to poll.
- Authentication and limits. API keys with scopes, rate limits, and clear errors.
- Documentation. A public reference or an OpenAPI spec you can generate a client from.
- No-code options. Zapier or Make, for teams without a developer.
The API plans at a glance
| Tool | API from | Webhooks | Zapier | Price of that plan |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Famewall | Standard | Standard | Standard | $15/month |
| Senja | Starter | Starter | Starter | $29/month |
| Feedspace | Professional | Professional | Not listed by name | $29/month |
| VideoTestimonials | Pro | Pro | Not offered | $49/month |
| Testimonial.to | Ultimate | Ultimate | Ultimate | $60/month, per space |
| VideoAsk | Grow | Grow | Free plan | $30/month |
| Testimonials.io | Growth | Not listed | Growth | $89/month |
| StoryPrompt | Premium | Premium | Pro | $169/month |
The 8 tools, reviewed
1. VideoTestimonials — a documented REST API with an OpenAPI spec
VideoTestimonials
Testimonial tool (ours)- Free plan
- 20 text testimonials + 10 video testimonials, no time limit
- Entry paid plan
- Starter: $24/month
- Unlimited video from
- Starter, $24/month
- Recording limit
- Set per form, up to 5 minutes
- Best for
- Developers who want a documented REST API and webhooks, and video testimonials
- Not for
- Zapier, or an API on the entry plan; ours is on Pro
VideoTestimonials is our product. The REST API lives at app.videotestimonials.video/api/v1, over HTTPS, and is part of the Pro plan at $49/month. It covers:
- Testimonials: list with filters for space, status, type, rating, text search and dates; create; get; update status, text, rating, company or role; delete with stored files.
- Batch moderation: set the status of, or delete, up to 100 testimonials in one call.
- Spaces: list, create, read, update and delete.
- Auth and limits: keys created under Settings → API Keys, with read, write and delete scopes, sent as a bearer token; 1,000 requests an hour, reported in rate-limit headers.
Webhooks fire on testimonial.created, testimonial.approved, testimonial.rejected and testimonial.deleted, as a signed JSON POST, with up to three delivery attempts. The full reference is public at /docs/api, with an OpenAPI 3.1 spec at /openapi.json.
Choose it if you want to render video and text testimonials with your own components, or feed them into another system.
Not for: no-code automation through Zapier, which we do not offer, or endpoints for forms, walls and widgets, which the API does not have yet.
2. Famewall — the cheapest plan with an API
Famewall
Testimonial tool- Free plan
- 10 testimonials, 1 video, 1 wall
- Entry paid plan
- Standard: $15/month
- Unlimited video from
- Professional, $29/month ($25 billed yearly)
- Recording limit
- 2 minutes (3 on Professional, 5 on Business)
- Best for
- Cheap walls of mostly written testimonials
- Not for
- Collecting a steady flow of video on the entry plan
Famewall's Standard plan at $15/month lists API access, webhooks, Zapier, Make, and Slack and Discord integrations, and Famewall publishes a Testimonial API page. Nothing else here puts an API on a plan this cheap. Standard caps video at 6 testimonials; unlimited video is on Professional.
Choose it if you need an API on the smallest budget.
Not for: a steady flow of video on the entry plan.
3. Senja — API, webhooks and Zapier on the first paid plan
Senja
Testimonial tool- Free plan
- 15 testimonials in total, video and text combined
- Entry paid plan
- Starter: $29/month
- Unlimited video from
- Starter, $29/month
- Recording limit
- Not stated
- Best for
- Teams that want a polished all-rounder with rewards and translation
- Not for
- Several brands on a small budget
Senja lists Zapier, its API and webhooks on Starter at $29/month, alongside unlimited testimonials, testimonial autosync and custom domains. Its pricing page describes the API as a way to "build your own custom integrations".
Choose it if you want unlimited video and an API on the same entry plan.
Not for: several brands on Starter, which includes one project.
4. Feedspace — API and webhooks with broad imports
Feedspace
Testimonial tool- Free plan
- 20 text and 20 video reviews, 1-minute recordings, 10 reviews on display
- Entry paid plan
- Professional: $29/month
- Unlimited video from
- Professional, $29/month ($24 billed yearly)
- Recording limit
- 1 minute free, 3 on Professional, 5 on Business
- Best for
- The most free video, and importing from many review platforms
- Not for
- Agencies on a budget
Feedspace lists "API + webhooks + automation" on Professional at $29/month, with auto-import from over 100 platforms, unlimited review forms and 5 team members.
Choose it if you want imported reviews and collected testimonials available to your own code.
Not for: long free recordings, which stop at one minute.
5. Testimonial.to — REST API, MCP and webhooks on Ultimate
Testimonial.to
Testimonial tool- Free plan
- 2 video and 10 text testimonials in total
- Entry paid plan
- Starter: $30/month
- Unlimited video from
- Ultimate, $60/month per space ($50 billed yearly)
- Recording limit
- 2 minutes (5 on Ultimate)
- Best for
- Text testimonials and importing posts from X and LinkedIn
- Not for
- Regular video collection on a small budget
Testimonial.to lists REST API, MCP, webhooks, Zapier and Make on Ultimate at $60/month per space. It is the only tool here that lists MCP, for connecting AI assistants to your testimonials. Ultimate also brings unlimited video and 5-minute recordings.
Choose it if you want MCP, or Testimonial.to's social importing with an API.
Not for: an API on a small budget, or several brands, since each space is priced separately.
6. VideoAsk — APIs and webhooks on Grow
VideoAsk
Video platform- Free plan
- 20 minutes of video or audio a month
- Entry paid plan
- Grow: $30/month
- Unlimited video from
- Not offered on published plans
- Recording limit
- Not stated
- Best for
- Interactive, branching video conversations
- Not for
- Predictable testimonial budgets
VideoAsk, part of Typeform, lists APIs and webhooks on Grow at $30/month and Zapier on its free plan, with a Developer APIs link in its footer. It is an interactive video form rather than a testimonial wall, priced by processing minutes.
Choose it if your testimonial flow is part of a larger video form or funnel.
Not for: predictable testimonial budgets, since usage is metered in minutes.
7. Testimonials.io — API on Growth, higher limits on Enterprise
Testimonials.io
Testimonial tool- Free plan
- None
- Entry paid plan
- Starter: $49/month
- Unlimited video from
- Starter, $49/month ($24 billed yearly)
- Recording limit
- Not stated
- Best for
- Unlimited text and video with flat pricing, if you pay yearly
- Not for
- Trying a tool before paying
Testimonials.io lists Zapier and API on Growth at $89/month, and on Enterprise an API allowance of 2,000 requests an hour. Every plan includes unlimited text and video.
Choose it if you pay yearly and want flat pricing with an API.
Not for: trying before you pay; there is no free plan.
8. StoryPrompt — API and webhooks on Premium
StoryPrompt
Testimonial tool- Free plan
- 15 responses, 2-minute SD videos with a watermark, 14-day history
- Entry paid plan
- Starter: $39/month
- Unlimited video from
- Not offered on published plans
- Recording limit
- 2 minutes free, 3 on Starter, 5 on Pro
- Best for
- Guided video prompts with a teleprompter and stitching
- Not for
- A low monthly budget
StoryPrompt lists webhooks and API access on Premium at $169/month, Zapier on Pro, and a Developer API link in its footer. Premium also removes the recording length limit and adds white labelling.
Choose it if you want guided, stitched video and an API, and the budget allows.
Not for: an API on a lower plan.
Also with an API: Vocal Video lists API and analytics integration on Pro, at $149/month, billed yearly, and Reviews.io lists API access on Plus, at $500/month.
Widget, API or webhook?
- Widget: the fastest way to put testimonials on a page. No code beyond pasting a snippet.
- Read API: testimonials rendered by your own components — for example a Next.js Server Component that fetches approved testimonials at build time, so they are in the HTML search engines see.
- Write API: testimonials created from another system, such as an NPS survey, a support tool or an in-app prompt.
- Webhooks: something happens when a testimonial arrives or is approved — post it to Slack, add it to a CRM, trigger a thank-you email.
If you only need the last one and do not have a developer, a tool with Zapier or Make is the simpler route.
Example: approved testimonials for one space
With VideoTestimonials, fetching the 20 newest approved testimonials for a space is one request, made from your server so the key stays secret:
curl "https://app.videotestimonials.video/api/v1/testimonials?status=approved&space_id=YOUR_SPACE_ID&limit=20" \
-H "Authorization: Bearer sk_live_YOUR_KEY"
The response includes the testimonials and a pagination object with total, limit, offset and has_more, so you can page through the rest with offset. Add type=video for video only, or rating=5 for five-star testimonials.
Example: verifying a webhook
VideoTestimonials sends each webhook as a JSON POST whose body holds the event name, a timestamp and the testimonial record. Two headers come with it: X-Webhook-ID, identifying the webhook, and X-Webhook-Signature, an HMAC-SHA256 of the body made with your webhook's secret. Compute the same HMAC on your side and compare before trusting the request. A failed delivery is retried, up to three attempts in total.
When you do not need the API at all
Some integrations are built in, so there is nothing to code. On VideoTestimonials, Slack notifications work on every plan; Discord, Microsoft Teams and Telegram notifications start on Starter; and HubSpot and Salesforce sync, which writes each testimonial to the matching contact, is part of the Business plan. Check what your tool connects to natively before you build the same thing yourself.
Questions to ask any vendor before you build
- Is the API on the plan you will actually be on in a year, not just the trial?
- Can a key be limited to reading, so a leaked key cannot delete anything?
- What is the rate limit, and is it reported in response headers?
- Do webhooks retry, and are they signed so you can verify where they came from?
- Is there an export, so your testimonials are not locked in if you leave?
Which to pick
| If you need… | Pick… | Why |
|---|---|---|
| An API on the smallest budget | Famewall | Standard at $12/month billed yearly |
| An API plus unlimited video on one plan | Senja | Both on Starter |
| A public OpenAPI spec and batch moderation | VideoTestimonials | Pro, documented at /docs/api |
| MCP for AI assistants | Testimonial.to | On Ultimate |
| Imported reviews through an API | Feedspace | Imports and API on Professional |
| Video forms with branching and an API | VideoAsk | APIs and webhooks on Grow |
| Zapier without a developer | Famewall or Senja | On their entry plans |
Where VideoTestimonials fits
We are a good fit for developers who want a documented API: a public reference, an OpenAPI 3.1 spec, scoped keys, batch endpoints and signed webhooks, on top of video and text collection. We are not the cheapest route to an API — Famewall and Senja include theirs on lower plans — and we have no Zapier integration. Read the API reference, the API integration page or the webhooks page.
How we compared: which plan includes an API, webhooks and Zapier was read from each vendor's own pricing page on the dates shown above. VideoTestimonials is our product; we have said where each alternative is the better choice.
Pavel Putilin
·FounderFounder of VideoTestimonials. Passionate about helping businesses build trust through authentic customer stories and video social proof.
Frequently asked questions
Which testimonial software has an API?+
Famewall (from Standard, $15/month), Senja (from Starter, $29/month), Feedspace (from Professional, $29/month), VideoTestimonials (on Pro, $49/month), Testimonial.to (on Ultimate, $60/month per space), VideoAsk (from Grow, $30/month), Testimonials.io (from Growth) and StoryPrompt (on Premium) all list an API on their pricing pages.
What is the cheapest testimonial API?+
Famewall's. Famewall Standard is $15/month, or $12 billed yearly, and includes API access, webhooks, Zapier, Make, Slack and Discord integrations.
Does VideoTestimonials have an API?+
Yes, on Pro at $49/month. The REST API at app.videotestimonials.video/api/v1 lists, creates, updates and deletes testimonials and spaces, with batch updates of up to 100, API keys with read, write and delete scopes, 1,000 requests an hour and a public OpenAPI 3.1 spec. Webhooks fire when a testimonial is created, approved, rejected or deleted.
Which testimonial tools support Zapier?+
Famewall (Standard), Senja (Starter), Testimonial.to (Ultimate), VideoAsk (free plan), Testimonials.io (Growth) and StoryPrompt (Pro) list Zapier. VideoTestimonials does not have a Zapier integration; use its webhooks or API instead.
Does any testimonial tool support MCP?+
Testimonial.to lists MCP alongside its REST API and webhooks on Ultimate, at $60/month per space.
Can I fetch only approved testimonials to render on my own site?+
With VideoTestimonials, yes - call GET /testimonials with status=approved and your space_id from your server, then render them however you like. Most tools with a read API support a similar pattern; check their docs for filters.
Is there a free plan with an API?+
Not among the tools here. Famewall's API starts on Standard at $15/month, Senja's on Starter at $29/month and VideoTestimonials' on Pro at $49/month. VideoAsk's free plan includes Zapier, and its APIs start on Grow.
Should I use a widget or the API?+
Use a widget if you want testimonials on a page today with no code. Use the API when testimonials need to live in your own design system, app or CMS, or when another system creates them.
Related Articles
Related Articles

Best Free Wall of Love Tools (2026): 8 Free Plans Compared
Eight free plans that include a Wall of Love, compared on how many testimonials and videos fit, how many walls, branding, recording limits and what the first paid plan costs. From each vendor's own pricing page.

Best Google Review Widgets for Your Website (2026): 7 Tools Compared
Seven ways to show Google reviews on your website, compared on free plans, price, view limits, how often reviews update and filtering. Trustindex and Elfsight lead; we say where each fits. Prices from each vendor's own site.

Best Testimonial Widget for GoHighLevel (2026): Native Options and 6 Tools Compared
How to show testimonials on HighLevel (GoHighLevel) funnels and websites: the native Video Testimonials, Review Widget and Testimonials element, when a third-party tool is worth adding, and six tools compared for agencies. HighLevel details from its help centre; prices from each vendor's own site.
