Head-to-head comparison

VideoAsk vs Shoutout (2026)

How VideoAsk by Typeform and Shoutout stack up — plus where VideoTestimonials fits as a third option.

Option A

VideoAsk

VideoAsk is Typeform's async video conversation tool. It builds branching video flows that can take payments, book meetings and run NPS surveys, and teams often use one of those flows to gather testimonials. Collection is its strength; publishing what you collect is not what it was built for.

$30/month (Grow) · Starter
Try this instead
VideoTestimonials

All-in-one platform

Video + text testimonial collection, 55 image studio templates, 10+ Wall of Love widgets, REST API, multi-space.

$24/mo · Starter
Option B

Shoutout

Shoutout is a simple, budget-friendly testimonial tool for small businesses. It supports both video and text testimonial collection with a focus on ease of use. Offers a lifetime deal option.

$15/month (Monthly) · Starter
Verified facts, side by side

VideoAsk vs Shoutout at a glance

Each figure was read off the vendor’s own pricing page on the date shown under the table.

VideoAsk and Shoutout compared on free plan, entry price, unlimited video and recording limit
FeatureVideoAskShoutout
What it isVideo platformTestimonial tool
Free plan20 minutes of video or audio a monthNo free plan
Entry paid planGrow: $30/monthMonthly: $15/month
Unlimited video fromNot offered on published plansMonthly, $15/month
Recording limitNot statedNot stated
Money-back guaranteeNot stated7 days
Best forInteractive, branching video conversationsThe lowest monthly price for unlimited video
Not forPredictable testimonial budgetsTrying a tool before paying
Checked2026-11-01 on videoask.com2026-11-01 on shoutout.io

Which to choose

  • They are different kinds of product: VideoAsk is a video platform, Shoutout a testimonial tool.
  • Only VideoAsk has a free plan (20 minutes of video or audio a month); Shoutout has none.
  • Shoutout costs less to start: its Monthly plan is $15/month, against VideoAsk's Grow at $30/month.
  • Only Shoutout lists unlimited video testimonials on a published plan, from Monthly, $15/month. VideoAsk does not.
  • Shoutout offers a 7-day money-back guarantee.

Choose VideoAsk for

Interactive, branching video conversations

Not the pick for

Predictable testimonial budgets

Choose Shoutout for

The lowest monthly price for unlimited video

Not the pick for

Trying a tool before paying

For reference, VideoTestimonials (our product): a free plan with 20 text testimonials and 10 video testimonials, then unlimited video testimonials from Starter at $24/month; recording length is set per form, up to 5 minutes. Compare plans.

Pricing across all three plans

Each row is a tier — Starter, Pro, etc. — with real prices from each platform’s pricing page.

PlanVideoAskVideoTestimonialsShoutout
FreeFree (20 minutes of video or audio a month)FreeNo free plan
Starter$30/month (Grow)$24/mo$15/month (Monthly)
Pro$50/month (Brand)$49/mo$199 once (Lifetime)
Our independent comparisons

Each one against VideoTestimonials

Our head-to-head posts compare VideoAsk and Shoutout with VideoTestimonials feature by feature, including where each is the better choice.

More on each platform

Common questions

Is VideoAsk or Shoutout cheaper?

VideoAsk's Grow plan is $30/month; Shoutout's Monthly plan is $15/month. Read from each vendor's own pricing page on 2026-11-01.

Do VideoAsk and Shoutout have free plans?

VideoAsk: 20 minutes of video or audio a month. Shoutout: No free plan.

Which has unlimited video testimonials, VideoAsk or Shoutout?

Only Shoutout lists unlimited video testimonials on a published plan, from Monthly, $15/month. VideoAsk does not.

Is VideoAsk a testimonial tool?

Not specifically. It is an async video conversation platform from Typeform, used for hiring, support, lead capture and testimonials alike. That breadth is genuinely useful if you need conditional logic, payments or scheduling — none of which this product does.

What does VideoAsk cost?

Free for 20 minutes of video or audio processing a month. Grow is $30/month ($24 billed yearly) for 1,200 minutes a year, and Brand starts at $50/month ($40 yearly) for 2,400 minutes. Prices checked August 2026.

Why does per-minute billing matter?

Because testimonials vary in length. A two-minute story and a twenty-second one cost the same here; on VideoAsk the long one eats six times the allowance. If you are collecting a lot of video, the maths diverges quickly.

Shoutout is cheaper — why should I switch?

Shoutout is more affordable ($15/mo or $199 lifetime) but has only 2 widget types, ~3 import sources, and no image studio. VideoTestimonials offers 10+ widgets, 18 import sources, image studio with 50+ templates, and a free tier to start.

Can I keep my existing testimonials?

Yes. Export from Shoutout and import via CSV. All your testimonials, ratings, and customer info will transfer.

Does VideoTestimonials work on any website?

Yes, our widgets work on WordPress, Shopify, Webflow, Squarespace, Wix, and any site that supports HTML embeds.

Start building trust today

Weighing VideoAsk against Shoutout?
Try the third option free.

VideoTestimonials collects video and text testimonials through one link, imports the reviews you already have, and embeds them anywhere. Free plan includes 10 videos, 20 text testimonials and a Wall of Love — no credit card, nothing expires.

Free forever plan
No credit card required
Cancel anytime