Boast vs VideoAsk (2026)
How Boast.io and VideoAsk by Typeform stack up — plus where VideoTestimonials fits as a third option.
Boast
Boast.io focuses on video testimonial collection and customer feedback for mid-market companies. It offers video capture, NPS/CSAT surveys, and review collection with a focus on enterprise use cases.
All-in-one platform
Video + text testimonial collection, 55 image studio templates, 10+ Wall of Love widgets, REST API, multi-space.
VideoAsk
VideoAsk is Typeform's async video conversation tool. It builds branching video flows that can take payments, book meetings and run NPS surveys, and teams often use one of those flows to gather testimonials. Collection is its strength; publishing what you collect is not what it was built for.
Boast vs VideoAsk at a glance
Each figure was read off the vendor’s own pricing page on the date shown under the table.
| Feature | Boast | VideoAsk |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Testimonial tool | Video platform |
| Free plan | No free plan | 20 minutes of video or audio a month |
| Entry paid plan | Basic: $50/month, billed yearly | Grow: $30/month |
| Unlimited video from | Not offered on published plans | Not offered on published plans |
| Recording limit | 5 minutes on Basic, 10 on Team, 15 on Premium | Not stated |
| Best for | Established teams with budget for a managed collection workflow | Interactive, branching video conversations |
| Not for | Small businesses testing video testimonials | Predictable testimonial budgets |
| Checked | 2026-11-01 on boast.io | 2026-11-01 on videoask.com |
Which to choose
- They are different kinds of product: Boast is a testimonial tool, VideoAsk a video platform.
- Only VideoAsk has a free plan (20 minutes of video or audio a month); Boast has none.
- VideoAsk costs less to start: its Grow plan is $30/month, against Boast's Basic at $50/month, billed yearly.
- Neither lists unlimited video testimonials on a published plan.
- Boast caps recordings at 5 minutes on its lowest video plan; VideoAsk does not state a recording limit.
Choose Boast for
Established teams with budget for a managed collection workflow
Not the pick for
Small businesses testing video testimonials
Choose VideoAsk for
Interactive, branching video conversations
Not the pick for
Predictable testimonial budgets
For reference, VideoTestimonials (our product): a free plan with 20 text testimonials and 10 video testimonials, then unlimited video testimonials from Starter at $24/month; recording length is set per form, up to 5 minutes. Compare plans.
Pricing across all three plans
Each row is a tier — Starter, Pro, etc. — with real prices from each platform’s pricing page.
| Plan | Boast | VideoTestimonials | VideoAsk |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | No free plan (14-day trial) | Free | Free (20 minutes of video or audio a month) |
| Starter | $50/month, billed yearly (Basic) | $24/mo | $30/month (Grow) |
| Pro | $100/month, billed yearly (Team) | $49/mo | $50/month (Brand) |
Each one against VideoTestimonials
Our head-to-head posts compare Boast and VideoAsk with VideoTestimonials feature by feature, including where each is the better choice.
More on each platform
Common questions
Is Boast or VideoAsk cheaper?
Boast's Basic plan is $50/month, billed yearly; VideoAsk's Grow plan is $30/month. Read from each vendor's own pricing page on 2026-11-01.
Do Boast and VideoAsk have free plans?
Boast: No free plan. VideoAsk: 20 minutes of video or audio a month.
Which has unlimited video testimonials, Boast or VideoAsk?
Neither lists unlimited video testimonials on a published plan.
Can I transfer my Boast videos to VideoTestimonials?
Yes. Download your videos from Boast and upload them to VideoTestimonials. We support all common video formats.
Does VideoTestimonials support NPS surveys like Boast?
Yes. You can include NPS rating questions in your testimonial collection forms alongside video and text prompts.
Is VideoTestimonials easier to use than Boast?
Our users consistently report that VideoTestimonials is more intuitive with a modern interface, drag-and-drop form builder, and simpler widget configuration.
Is VideoAsk a testimonial tool?
Not specifically. It is an async video conversation platform from Typeform, used for hiring, support, lead capture and testimonials alike. That breadth is genuinely useful if you need conditional logic, payments or scheduling — none of which this product does.
What does VideoAsk cost?
Free for 20 minutes of video or audio processing a month. Grow is $30/month ($24 billed yearly) for 1,200 minutes a year, and Brand starts at $50/month ($40 yearly) for 2,400 minutes. Prices checked August 2026.
Why does per-minute billing matter?
Because testimonials vary in length. A two-minute story and a twenty-second one cost the same here; on VideoAsk the long one eats six times the allowance. If you are collecting a lot of video, the maths diverges quickly.
